Texas towns, especially Houston is infamous for its high traffic accident rate. Texan roads have had a bloody streak for 15/16 years of not missing a single day without someone dying due to road accidents! The grave seriousness of the situation may be difficult to grasp fully. If you do, your first response would be to inquire the ignition interlock cost. In case, you are still unsure about its significance, take a moment to settle and think over the fact that more than 50,000 people lost their lives on Texas roads in the 21st century.
Can you visualize a streak of road with all the dead people lying there? Apparently, the state has been witnessing a steady massacre of unfortunate traffic victims, and there seems to be no end to it either!
The Impact of the New Law
Over the years, the laws have been tighter, but not of much avail. This is a sad state of affairs because drunken driving is a totally preventable scenario. Needless to mention is the fact that almost all road accidents are due to people driving under influence. In 2015, the state legislature passed a law that made it mandatory for any primary offender in DUI to set up an IID in the vehicle. The purpose intended is to reduce the workload of pending cases, and dispense speedy trials. However, it is necessary to remember that this option is only selectively applicable.
You should not expect the court to let you go with an IID if the case involves fatal accidents or you are a repeat offender, or both! For those who can still hope for an escape route with constant breath monitoring in the vehicle, always check out with a competent DWI legal service in Houston.
Scenarios for Applicability
What are the possible scenarios for the applicability of the interlock device? Usually, the first time offenders on a minor DWI arrest are found eligible for at least one year of mandatory installation. Depending on the gravity of the arrest circumstances, the duration can stretch further. Second time offenders typically have to oblige with the surveillance for three years. Third timers should not expect to be still able to drive. Nevertheless, if the court still allows it, you should expect to drive until the last with an alcohol sniffing module integrated with the ignition system.
Although some first timers often express their resentment at such type of close control on the freedom of movement, yet experienced offenders tend to think it a lucky way to get through. The interlock ignition cost is the money you would be paying on rent basis at a state authorized garage. It is normally in the range of $100 to $300 depending on the type of device (as per the car model).
You would also have to pay for monthly maintenance, entitling the driver with a legal obligation to visit the garage personally every month. For those who need to know more about the chances of avoiding it, look up a good lawyer that can stand behind when you plead not guilty.